Biodiesel

Biodiesel - the alternative source of energy

Biodiesel has become increasingly popular over recent years and is regarded globally as one of the most environmentally friendly sources of energy. A growing environmental awareness makes it even more interesting as an alternative to fossil fuels.

Biofuels and sustainability - explained simply

The NEW (Natural Energy West) production plant in Marl went into operation in 2002. We gave a clear signal in establishing this large-scale industrial plant in the middle of the Ruhr Area which is the key market for fuel sales in NRW.
C. Thywissen GmbH is shareholder together with Diester Industrie International (Paris), Koninklijke Bunge B.V.(Rotterdam) and Agravis Raiffeisen AG (Münster).

The site in the Marl industrial park and the unique mix of shareholders guarantees our customers a competent, reliable and long-term business relationship.

Biodiesel truly is "flower power" because it is a biogenic fuel derived from vegetable oils obtained from high quality and renewable raw materials. By simply altering its molecular chains, the oil becomes a modern diesel fuel which, in its flow and combustion properties, comes very close to conventional, mineral diesel. It even improves the lubricity in the engine. Above all, however, biodiesel is almost sulphur-free and produces no soot particles. According to a life cycle assessment by the ifeu Institute in 2003, consumption of one litre of biodiesel saves 2.2 kg of greenhouse gas emissions!

  • Biodiesel is by nature almost sulphur-free.
  • Biodiesel has excellent lubricity.
  • Biodiesel has an especially good ability to ignite because of the high cetane number. This reduces engine wear and makes running smoother.
  • The high oxygen content of eleven per cent improves the combustion process and as a result produces less soot. This reduces residues in the engine.

For more information on biodiesel: Verband der Deutschen Biokraftstoffindustrie e.V.

Glycerin obtained from the process is further processed by us on site in a refinery into pharma grade glycerin and is a natural substance of the future. It is used for cosmetics, pharmaceuticals and food.

See also: Glycerin

Biodiesel

Biodiesel – Die alternative Energiequelle

Biodiesel hat sich in den letzten Jahren stark verbreitet und gilt international als eine der umweltfreundlichsten Energiequellen. Ein wachsendes Umweltbewusstsein machen ihn als Alternative zu fossilen Brennstoffen immer interessanter.

Biokraftstoffe und Nachhaltigkeit - einfach erklärt

2002 hat die Produktionsanlage der Firma NEW (Natural Energy West) in Marl ihren Betrieb aufgenommen. Mit dieser industriellen Großanlage haben wir mitten im Ruhrgebiet, dem wichtigsten Markt für den Absatz von Kraftstoffen in NRW, ein Zeichen gesetzt.
Die C. Thywissen GmbH ist hier zusammen mit Diester Industrie International (Paris), Koninklijke Bunge B.V.(Rotterdam) und der Agravis Raiffeisen AG (Münster) Gesellschafter.

Der Standort im Industriepark Marl und der einzigartige Mix der Gesellschafter garantiert unseren Kunden eine kompetente, verlässliche und langfristige Geschäftsbeziehung.

Biodiesel ist echte "Flower Power", denn er ist ein biogener Kraftstoff aus hochwertigen und nachwachsenden Rohstoffen gewonnenen Pflanzenölen. Das Öl wird durch einfachen "Umbau" seiner Molekülketten zu einem modernen Dieselkraftstoff, der in seinen Fließ - und Verbrennungseigenschaften konventionellem, mineralischem Diesel sehr nahe kommt. Er verbessert sogar die Schmierfähigkeit im Motor. Vor allem aber verbrennt Biodiesel nahezu schwefelfrei und ohne Rußpartikel. Laut Ökobilanz des ifeu-Institutes 2003 spart der Verbrauch eines Liters Biodiesel den Ausstoß von 2,2kg Treibhausgasen ein!

  • Biodiesel ist von Natur aus nahezu schwefelfrei.
  • Biodiesel hat eine hervorragende Schmierfähigkeit.
  • Biodiesel verfügt über eine besonders gute Zündwilligkeit aufgrund der höheren Cetanzahl. Das führt zu einem geringeren Motorenverschleiß und einer größeren Laufruhe.
  • Der hohe Sauerstoffanteil von elf Prozent ermöglicht einen besseren Verbrennungsablauf und erzeugt dadurch deutlich weniger Ruß. Rückstände im Motor werden so vermindert.

Mehr Informationen zu Biodiesel: Verband der Deutschen Biokraftstoffindustrie e.V.

Das aus dem Prozess gewonnene Glycerin wird vor Ort in einer Raffinerie von uns zu Pharmaglycerin weiterverarbeitet und ist ein natürlicher Stoff der Zukunft. Es wird für Kosmetik, Arzneimittel und Nahrungsmittel eingesetzt.

Siehe auch: Glycerin